Mangano to Host POW-MIA Candlelight Ceremony

By eden laikin

Nassau County Executive Ed Mangano will join more than 2,500 Nassau veterans to remember and honor our nation’s Prisoners-of-War (POW) and those military persons listed as Missing-in-Action (MIA).

The POW-MIA Candlelight Ceremony will take place tomorrow, Friday September 19th at 11am. near Veterans Plaza in Eisenhower Park.

The POW MIA cage will be brought out in front of the mobile stage and County Executive and other dignitaries will lay wreathes on the cage during the ceremony. Mangano will also light a torch symbolizing POW/MIAs in all wars.

Ralph Esposito, Director of the Nassau County Veterans Service Agency, will serve as Master of Ceremonies.

“Nassau County is proud to observe National POW/MIA Recognition Day this month, with this ceremony, and by flying the POW/MIA flag,” County Executive Mangano said. “This Day is about keeping the promise of remembrance for the safe return of American Prisoners of War and those still missing in action.”

Mangano noted the numbers of unaccounted service members from each war:

o World War II: 74, 074
o Korea: 8,028
o Vietnam: 1,713
o Gulf War: 6
o War on Terror: 4

“Even though their fates are still unknown, they are no less our heroes,” he said. “We salute their service to our country, protecting our precious freedoms.”

County Legislators Norma Gonsalves and Michael Venditto will read the names and towns of each of the POW/MIAs from Nassau and Suffolk, during the ceremony.

Immediately following the ceremony, the veterans and their families are invited to Nassau’s FREE annual veteran’s Picnic – also at Eisenhower Park.

In addition to food, there will be Senior ID cards offered at the event and information on benefits to which veterans might be entitled and future events specially for them.

The USO Liberty Bells will perform from 12pm-12:30pm and then Full House will go on.

Names to be read by readers:
Paul Andrew Avolese, East Meadow
William Chomyk, Hicksville
William K. Cowell, Glen Cove
Raymond Vincent DeBlasio, West Hempstead
Herbert Hugh Dilger, Valley Stream
Jose Antonio Graniela, Jr., Brentwood
Peter Arthur Grubb, Southampton
Robert Herman Harrison, Massapequa Park
Bruce Edward Kane, Deer Park
Joseph T. Kearns, Jr., Sea Cliff
Frederic Woodrow Knapp, Huntington
Leonard Charles Leeser, Floral Park
Joseph A. Matejov, East Meadow
Arthur Edward McLeod, Bay Shore
Richard Thomas Morrissey Uniondale
Harry Seeder Mossman, Manhasset
Daniel R. Nidds, West Islip
Kevin O’Brien, Farmingville
John Francis O’Grady, New Hyde Park
Don B. Parsons, Freeport
Albert Pitt, Hempstead
Robert E. Rausch, Hicksville
Richard John Reardon, Huntington
Leonard Robertson, Northport
Kenneth M. Roraback, Baldwin
Walter R. Schmidt, Jr., Carle Place
Philip Vincent Mandra (Korea), Farmingdale
Kenneth J. Butcher (Grenada), West Islip
Terance Weldon *USS Stark), Selden


About nassaucountynewsnetwork

The County Executive of Nassau County,NY
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s